Colac Otway SHIRE

MINUTES

MEETING OF SPECIAL COUNCIL OF THE COLAC-OTWAY SHIRE COUNCIL

9 NOVEMBER 2011

at 11:05 AM

COPACC Meeting Rooms

An audio recording of this meeting is being made for the purpose of verifying the accuracy of the minutes of the meeting. In some circumstances the recording may be disclosed, such as where Council is compelled to do so by court order, warrant, subpoena or by any other law, such as the Freedom of Information Act 1982.

MINUTES of the MEETING OF SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE COLAC-OTWAY SHIRE COUNCIL held at the COPACC Meeting Rooms on 9 November 2011 at 11.00 am.

1. OPENING PRAYER

2. PRESENT

Cr Brian Crook (Mayor)

Cr Lyn Russell

Cr Stephen Hart

Cr Stuart Hart

Cr Geoff Higgins

Cr Chris Smith

Rob Small, Chief Executive Officer Colin Hayman, General Manager, Corporate and Community Services Neil Allen, General Manager, Infrastructure and Services Jack Green, General Manager, Sustainable Planning and Development Rhonda Deigan, Executive Officer

3. APOLOGIES

Cr Frank Buchanan

4. MAYORAL STATEMENT

Colac Otway Shire acknowledges the original custodians and law makers of this land, their elders past and present and welcomes any descendents here today.

An audio recording of this meeting is being made for the purpose of verifying the accuracy of the minutes of the meeting. In some circumstances the recording may be disclosed, such as where Council is compelled to do so by court order, warrant, subpoena or by any other law, such as the Freedom of Information Act 1982.'

5. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

Rob Small	In-Committee Item – SC110911-1 CEO Contractual Matters
Nature of Disclosure:	Direct

IN COMMITTEE

Resolution

MOVED Cr Stephen Hart seconded Cr Lyn Russell that pursuant to the provisions of Section 89(2) of the Local Government Act, the meeting be closed to the public and Council move "In-Committee" in order to deal with:

SUBJECT	REASON	SECTION OF ACT
CEO - Contractual Matters	this matter deals with personnel matters; AND this matter deals with contractual matters; AND this matter may prejudice the Council or any person	Section 89 (2) (a) (d) (h)

CARRIED 4:2

DIVISION called by Cr Chris Smith

For the Motion: Cr Brian Crook, Cr Lyn Russell, Cr Stephen Hart Against the Motion: Cr Geoff Higgins, Cr Chris Smith, Cr Stuart Hart

TIED 3-3. The vote being tied the Mayor used his casting vote to carry the Motion.

CARRIED 4:3

Council Officers, Jack Green, Neil Allen, Colin Hayman and Rhonda Deigan left the meeting at 11.15am.

OUT OF COMMITTEE

Resolution

MOVED Cr Stephen Hart seconded Cr Lyn Russell that Council move "Out-of-Committee".

CARRIED 6:0

The Meeting Was Declared Closed at 1.32 pm

CONFIRMED AND SIGNED at the meeting held on 23 NOVEMBER 2011

Frank MAYOR

MINUTES - 9/11/2011 Page 3