About Local Government Elections

The Colac Otway Shire Council election will be held this October:

The Victorian Electoral Commission is preparing to deliver local council elections during the extraordinary circumstances of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Elections are to be conducted entirely by post – a safe and completely secret method of voting.

The Victorian Electoral Commission has produced a video outlining how voters can find information on candidates, including where they stand on various issues that the voter may care about. Access the video via the YouTube link below:



Check which electorate your're enrolled in 

Not sure which electorate you're enrolled in, you can find out at the VEC website: https://www.vec.vic.gov.au/

Voter Alert

Victorians can also sign up for Voter Alert – a free SMS and email reminder service where voters will be notified when to expect a ballot pack in the mail and when to return their vote - visit the VEC website https://www.vec.vic.gov.au/

For information on voting, shire boundaries and important dates visit https://www.vec.vic.gov.au/voting/2020-local-council-election/elections/colac-otway-shire-council

Ballot packs

Voters enrolled in the Colac Otway Shire Council election should check the mail from this week (Monday 5 October) for their ballot packs for the election.

Ballot papers must be in the mail or hand-delivered to the Election Manager by 6 pm Friday 23 October. Voters are advised to check their local mail clearance times.

Voters who haven’t received their ballot pack by Friday 16 October should call the VEC on 1300 112 720 during business hours to arrange a replacement.

Candidates who have nominated for the election are listed in the ballot packs and can also be viewed at vec.vic.gov.au. Where provided by candidates, a photo and statement will be included. Voters can also view answers to the optional candidate questionnaire online.

Voting is compulsory for voters who were on the State roll for this election at 4 pm Friday 28 August and Council-enrolled voters are encouraged to vote. State-enrolled voters who don’t vote may be fined.


Local council general elections

Local council general elections are held every four years and councillors make decisions on a range of important local issues and services, including:

  • maternal health and childcare
  • sporting and recreation facilities
  • libraries and community centres
  • animal registrations
  • rubbish and recycling
  • planning and building regulations
  • local roads and footpaths.

We strongly encourage all eligible voters to vote this October. Voting is compulsory for State-enrolled Australian citizens aged 18 years or older, and you may be fined if you don’t vote.

Election timeline

Friday 28 August: Roll closes at 4 pm

Thursday 17 September: Candidate nominations open

Tuesday 22 September: Candidate nominations close at 12 noon

Tuesday 6 to Thursday 8 October: Mail-out of ballot packs

Friday 23 October: Voting closes at 6 pm

Friday 13 November: Latest date all results will be declared.

Who is conducting the election?

The Victorian Electoral Commission

How will election be conducted? 

By postal ballot only. Ballot materials will be sent  to enrolled persons by the Victorian Electoral Commission.

Who is eligible to vote?

For more information, see:


Election Information

The Victorian Electoral Commission conduct elections on behalf of all Victorian councils.

For detailed and up to date information about how to enrol, vote, become a candidate, and more, visit Colac Otway Shire Council election on the VEC website, or call the VEC on 131 832.


The Colac Otway Shire comprises a Mayor, Deputy Mayor and five Councillors. The Colac Otway Shire holds one election to elect the seven Councillors. 

Once the new Council is elected, a Special Meeting of Council is convened. Each Councillor is sworn in and then votes to elect a Mayor for a specified term of one or two years.   At the end of the Mayor's term, at a meeting of Council, the Mayor is elected for a new term of one or two years.  Visit our Councillors page for details of our current Councillors.