COLAC OTWAY SHIRE 2019 AUSTRALIA DAY AWARD GUIDELINES



Each year the Colac Otway Shire presents Australia Day Awards to local citizens and groups.

The Shire's Australia Day Awards celebrate the achievements and contributions made by outstanding members and groups in our community that inspire us through their efforts and make us proud to be Australian.



2018 Colac Otway Shire Australia Day Award Recipients
Tapanga Barnhart (Young Citizen of the Year)
Pam Radcliffe (Arts Service of the Year)
Prue Campbell (Community Service of the Year)
Aileen Kettle (Sporting Service of the Year)
Jenny Todorovic (Citizen of the Year)

AWARDS ARE AVAILABLE IN THE FOLLOWING CATEGORIES:

Citizen of the Year

The Citizen of the Year Award is awarded to an individual who has made a noteworthy contribution during the current year and/or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years. The Citizen of the Year must be 25 years or older on 26 January in the year of the award.

Young Citizen of the Year

The Young Citizen of the Year award is awarded to an individual who has made a noteworthy contribution during the current year and/or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years. The Young Citizen of the Year must be 25 years or younger on 26 January in the year of the award.

Community Service of the Year

The Community Service of the Year Award is awarded to an individual or group who has performed outstanding community service during the current year and/or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years.

Sporting Service of the Year

The Sporting Service of the Year Award is awarded to an individual or a group that has made a noteworthy contribution during the current year and/or given outstanding service to the local sporting community over a number of years.

Arts Service of the Year

The Arts Service of the Year Award is awarded to an individual or a group that has made a noteworthy contribution during the current year and/or given outstanding service to the local arts community over a number of years.

CONDITIONS OF ENTRY

Nominations must be attached to the Colac Otway Shire Australia Day Award Nomination Form.

Nominations must be received by 4pm on Friday 21 September 2018.

In the event that no nominations are received Council reserves the right to grant the award to a citizen or group of its choice.

No awards will be made if it is considered that nominations are not of a sufficiently high standard.

Council's decision on the Australia Day Awards is final and no correspondence will be entered into in regards to that decision.

SELECTION AND ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

Selection criteria:

- Significant contribution to the community
- Demonstrated excellence in their field
- Inspirational role model for the community

Consideration will be given to the following:



2018 Young Citizen of the Year Tapanga Barnhart

- Community contribution how has the nominee contributed to the betterment of the Colac Otway Shire Community (short term and long term benefit).
- Personal, academic and professional achievements (awards and recognition)
 How the nominee has used his or her achievements to benefit others within the community.
- Nature and length of activity or service.
- Degree of difficulty and/or sacrifices made.
- Demonstrated leadership, innovation and creativity.
- Future goals and likely impact.

Please note that contributions must have been made on a voluntary basis beyond paid work.

Eligibility criteria:

The following eligibility criteria apply to all award categories:

- All nominees must be at least 16 years of age on the day of the award.
- Nominees should reside and/or attend an educational institution within the Shire. Residents who reside outside the Shire may be considered if their volunteer contributions have been made within the Colac Otway Shire.
- Sitting state and federal politicians, current vice regal officers and sitting councillors are not eligible.
- Retired politicians and vice-regal officers will only be considered for work undertaken in addition to their official duties.
- Self -nominations will not be accepted.
- Awards will not be granted posthumously.
- A nominee that has previously received an award in one category cannot receive another award in the same award category.
- Unsuccessful nominees may be re-nominated in subsequent year.
- One award will be awarded in each award category and no weight is given to the number of times a person has been nominated.

Nominations must be received by 4pm on Friday 21 September 2018.

To submit a nomination:

By email: inq@colacotway.vic.gov.au By mail: PO Box 283 COLAC VIC 3250

In person: 2 - 6 Rae Street, Colac or 69 Nelson Street, Apollo Bay