Australia Day Celebrations

On Australia Day 26 January, we celebrate what is great about Australia and being Australian. We take pride in who we are and promote diversity, harmony, social cohesion and respect for our fellow human beings. Through the Australia Day Awards we acknowledge the efforts and commitment of citizens who have made a significant contribution to our community and Australia as a whole.


The National Australia Day Council together with the State and Territory Australia Day Councils and Committees administer Australia Day Awards on a state and national level.  

The Colac Otway Shire administers awards on a local level on behalf of the National Australia Day Council.

Each year the Colac Otway Shire presents Australia Day Awards to individuals and groups within the Shire. 

The Shire’s Australia Day Awards celebrate the achievements and contributions made by outstanding members and groups in our community that inspire us through their efforts and make us proud to live in the Colac Otway Shire.


Awards are available in the following five categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Service of the Year
  • Sporting Service of the Year
  • Arts Service of the Year

The 2019 Colac Otway Shire Council Australia Day Award nominations have been re-opened until 21 September 2018.

2019-Australia-Day-Award-Guidelines-21-Sept-Closure.pdf(PDF, 304KB)

2019-Australia-Day-Award-Nomination-Form-21-Sept-Closure.pdf(PDF, 128KB)


EOI to sit on Australia Day Advisory Committee (ADAC)

Following a review of Council’s Australia Day operations in May 2018, Council resolved to provide further community ownership of the Australia Day Awards and Australia Day Event by establishing a community Australia Day Advisory Committee (ADAC). 

The main purpose of the ADAC is to make recommendations to Council in regards to matters relating to the Australia Day Awards and the Australia Day host town.

Community members are encouraged to nominate to sit on the ADAC through an Expression of Interest (EOI) Process.

The EOI to sit on the Australia Day Advisory Committee is now closed.